September 29th, 2016

Tories win Fladbury by-election

Tories win Fladbury by-election Tories win Fladbury by-election
Updated: 5:11 pm, May 06, 2015

THE CONSERVATIVES have retained the Fladbury seat on Wychavon District Council following a by-election.

Bradley Thomas was elected the new district councillor for the villages of Bricklehampton , Charlton, Cropthorne, Fladbury, and Wick with 456 votes ahead of the Liberal Democrats Diana Brown who notched up 319 votes.

UKIP enjoyed another strong showing to match their performances locally with Neil Whelan polling 234 votes.

The by-election was called following the sad death of former councillor Tom McDonald who passed away in February at the age of 79.

Meanwhile, turnout for the European elections in Wychavon was 37.24 per cent with 22,168 out of the 59,535 eligibile residents casting ther vote.

The results of the European elections will be revealed from 10pm on Sunday (May 25).