26th Jul, 2017

District netball glory for Pershore girls

Liam Moakes 7th Mar, 2016 Updated: 20th Oct, 2016

YEAR eight pupils at Pershore High School were queens of the court when they were crowned district netball champions.

The District Netball Championships were held at the Station Road school and it was Pershore High’s A team which topped the pile on a sunny but very cold afternoon.

The Pershore A team played consistently as a side throughout the tournament as they maintained good concentration and a high skill level which meant their confidence grew as the games progressed.

PE teacher Alison Lockley said: “Effort levels from all players on both the Pershore A and B teams were commendable and we are really pleased with how they are coming together as a team in a short space of time.”

The Pershore A team featured joint captains Millie Lealan and Mia Bourne and Amelia Ferriday, Lauren Keyte, Lily Morris, Jess Clarke-Morris and Georgie Jakusewski.

Pershore A defeated Bredon A 10-2, Bredon B 10-0, Pershore B 10-0, St Egwin’s 9-0 and De Montfort School 14-0.