Broadway ladies scramble for success - The Evesham Observer

Broadway ladies scramble for success

Evesham Editorial 15th Apr, 2019 Updated: 15th Apr, 2019   0

BROADWAY Golf Club’s ladies enjoyed a day packed full of golfing activity as they competed in their Spring Texas Scramble, followed by their annual spring dinner.

The morning had presented itself as a damp and dreary one as ladies made their way to their allocated tees for the shotgun start at noon.

As the klaxon sounded, the teams of four took their drives and then in Texas Scramble format the best tee shot was chosen and then played by the remaining three team members.

Repeated over 18 holes, the top positions were closely contested with only a small margin separating each.

Ladies’ captain Irene Hawkes and team-mates Chris Parkinson, Louise Folkes and Vienneta Hancock edged into top spot with an excellent 74 nett, ahead of second-placed Rita Harrison, Jane Nicholson, Dawn Cannon and Jane Hemming with 76.3.

Third with 76.5 were Maggie McDivitt, Andi Stedman, Nadine Simpkin and Cheryl Senior. Whilst the top three teams won the main Easter egg prizes, all competing ladies took home some delicious chocolate goodies.

Ladies then went on to enjoy the highlight of the day with their annual spring dinner. The event was attended by more than 60 members of the ladies’ section and guests and, after enjoying a sumptuous carvery, the long-awaited presentation of the 2018/19 Ladies’ Winter League honours took place.

It had been a hard-fought contest throughout all six rounds and was only decided when ultimate winners Rachel Rigg and Julia Fortescue cemented top spot in the final round. The winning pair brought in a tremendous 158 points.

Winners of the Maggie Wakefield runners-up goblets were Judith Noyce and Camilla Haines with 149 points.

SEVENTY Broadway men competed in the first of their Division One and Two Medals.

With weather and playing conditions near perfect, good scores were there to be made and in Division One James Powell made light work of the course as he brought in a superb 69 nett to take a deserved first place.

Matching the impressive score but edged out on countback was Steve Griffin, ahead of Jamie Thomas in third with 71.

Doug Nangle headed Division Two with 66 nett, leaving Paul Walker a close second with 67 and Glyn Jones third with 70 nett.

The following day it was the Captain versus President match which began with a shotgun start.

Teams went out keen to support either captain Andy Basford or president Chris Wright in their annual challenge. All matches were closely contested but it was the captain who was victorious by a 14-11 scoreline.

Traditionally, it is after this match the men’s Winter League winners are presented with their awards and, as has been reported throughout previous weeks, the competition over eight rounds has been intense.

Chris Davis and David Goodwin fought hard throughout to win the challenge, clinching overall victory with 325 points. Mark Rennie and Tom Cox battled hard too, finishing runners-up with 320.

Are you on Facebook?

Like or follow our Facebook page - to get daily news updates straight to your news feed.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Evesham Observer.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Evesham Observer.


Advertise with the Evesham Observer to reach your audience