Vale voters set to go to the polls - The Evesham Observer

Vale voters set to go to the polls

Evesham Editorial 2nd May, 2019 Updated: 2nd May, 2019   0

VOTERS across Evesham and Pershore are set to cast their votes in elections to Wychavon District Council and to both town councils.

Elections in 37 of the authority’s 45 seats will be held today (Thursday) with remaining eight seats uncontested at this year’s poll.

Elections will also be held to fill all 24 seats on Evesham Town Council while voters in the St Andrews area of Pershore will go to the polls to elect eight town councillors for the area.

Polling stations will be open until 10pm. Check your polling card or visit for details of where to cast your vote.

The Observer will be live at the count from 9.30am tomorrow (Friday) with the results expected in full after 2pm.

Here’s who standing for election for Wychavon District Council seats in the Vale


Mark Goodge (Conservative)

Martin Vernall (Labour)

Bengeworth – two seats

Mary Campbell (Labour)

Julie Haines (Liberal Democrats)

Tim Haines (Liberal Democrats)

Martin King (Conservative)

Emma Stokes (Conservative)


Adrian Hardman (Conservative)

Rehan Yunus (Labour)

Broadway and Wickhamford – two seats

Elizabeth Eyre (Conservative)

Emma Foss (Conservative)

Nigel Robinson (Independent)

Sally Tomlinson (Labour)

Evesham North – two seats

John Gowers (Labour)

Peter Griffiths (Conservative)

Gary Hale (Independent)

Emma Nishigaki (Independent)

Robert Raphael (Conservative)

Evesham South – two seats

Paul Bennett (Conservative)

Barmy Lord Brockman (Monster Raving Loony Party)

Edward Cohen (Green Party)

Chrissy Smith (Independent)

Matt Snape (Conservative)

Julie Tucker (Green Party)


Diana Brown (Liberal Democrats)

Tony Rowley (Conservative)

Great Hampton

Ged Bearcroft (Conservative)

Sarah Cohen (Green Party)

Honeybourne and Pebworth

Thomas Havemann-Mart (Conservative)

Patrick Hogan (Green Party)

Little Hampton – two seats

Andrew Dyke (Conservative)

Ros Gowers (Labour)

David Quayle (Liberal Democrats)

Sarah Schaathun (Independent)

Frances Smith (Conservative)

Jonathan Thompson

Pershore – three seats

Dan Boatright (Liberal Democrats)

Carolyn Harford (Liberal Democrats)

Misan McFarland (Labour)

Sam Tarran (Conservative)

Charles Tucker (Liberal Democrats)

Val Wood (Conservative)


Joshua Godfrey (Conservative)

Liz Tucker (Liberal Democrats)

The Littletons

Nicola Jennings (Green Party)

Richard Lasota (Conservative)

A reminder of the candidates standing for the town council elections

Avon – three seats

Michael Elliman (Conservative)

Jennifer Johnson (Conservative)

Emma Nishigaki (Evesham Independents)

Susan Smith (Labour)

Bengeworth – five seats

Alan Booth (Independent)

Mary Campbell (Labour)

Mark Goodge (Conservative)

Julie Haines (Liberal Democrats)

Tim Haines (Liberal Democrats)

Robert Hale (Conservative)

Norbert Tucker (Green Party)

Great Hampton – three seats

Emma Haynes (Independent)

Frances Smith (Conservative)

John Smith (Conservative)

Brian Turrell (Independent)

Little Hampton – five seats

Ged Bearcroft (Conservative)

Patrick Clifford (Conservative)

Andrew Dyke (Conservative)

Ros Gowers (Labour)

Liliana Mesquita Yunus (Labour)

David Qualye (Liberal Democrats)

Robert Raphael (Conservative)

Sarah Schaathun (Evesham Independents)

Jonathan Thompson (Evesham Independents)

South – five seats

Sue Amor (Conservative)

Barmy Lord Brockman (Official Monster Raving Loony Party)

Lynne Jakeman (Conservative)

Marlene Sale (Independent)

Chrissy Smith (Evesham Independents)

Julie Tucker (Green Party)

Twyford – three seats

Patrick Boyd (Conservative)

John Gowers (Labour)

Gary Hale (Evesham Independents)

Jo Sandalls (Conservative)

St Andrews – eight seats

David Annis (Independent)

Michael Chapman-Pincher (Independent Nothing to Lose)

Michael Doley (Independent)

Julie Hemming (Independent)

Chris Parsons (Independent)

Val Smith (Independent)

Robert Speight (Independent)

Charles Tucker (Pershore Focus Team)

Elizabeth Turier (Pershore Focus Team)

Matthew Winfield (Independent)

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Evesham Observer newspaper.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.


Advertise with the Evesham Observer to reach your audience


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.