Town council elections candidates are unveiled - The Evesham Observer

Town council elections candidates are unveiled

Rob George 23rd Apr, 2019   0

VOTERS in Evesham and Pershore will be able to make their voices heard with elections for both town councils on May 2.

A number of candidates are standing for election in both towns and among those are a group of independents who have pledged to work for local residents free from political affiliation.

Evesham’s own gang of four – Gary Hale, Emma Nishigaki, Sarah Schaathun and Jonathan Thompson – have pledged not to campaign on issues outside of the town council or Wychavon District Council’s control.

If elected they have vowed to be ‘approachable, representative, observant and reactive’ and accused current councillors of becoming less visable to local residents.

Elections will be held to fill all 24 seats on Evesham Town Council while voters in the St Andrews area of Pershore will go to the polls to elect eight town councillors for the area.

No election will be held in the Holy Cross area of the town with Dan Boatright, Peter Brookbank, Bob Gillmor, Arthur Lavelle, Julian Palfrey and Val Wood taking their places on the council in an uncontested poll.

The full list of candidates in our area is as follows:

Avon – three seats

Michael Elliman (Conservative)

Jennifer Johnson (Conservative)

Emma Nishigaki (Evesham Independents)

Susan Smith (Labour)

Bengeworth – five seats

Alan Booth (Independent)

Mary Campbell (Labour)

Mark Goodge (Conservative)

Julie Haines (Liberal Democrats)

Tim Haines (Liberal Democrats)

Robert Hale (Conservative)

Norbert Tucker (Green Party)

Great Hampton – three seats

Emma Haynes (Independent)

Frances Smith (Conservative)

John Smith (Conservative)

Brian Turrell (Independent)

Little Hampton – five seats

Ged Bearcroft (Conservative)

Patrick Clifford (Conservative)

Andrew Dyke (Conservative)

Ros Gowers (Labour)

Liliana Mesquita Yunus (Labour)

David Qualye (Liberal Democrats)

Robert Raphael (Conservative)

Sarah Schaathun (Evesham Independents)

Jonathan Thompson (Evesham Independents)

South – five seats

Sue Amor (Conservative)

Barmy Lord Brockman (Official Monster Raving Loony Party)

Lynne Jakeman (Conservative)

Marlene Sale (Independent)

Chrissy Smith (Evesham Independents)

Julie Tucker (Green Party)

Twyford – three seats

Patrick Boyd (Conservative)

John Gowers (Labour)

Gary Hale (Evesham Independents)

Jo Sandalls (Conservative)

St Andrews – eight seats

David Annis (Independent)

Michael Chapman-Pincher (Independent Nothing to Lose)

Michael Doley (Independent)

Julie Hemming (Independent)

Chris Parsons (Independent)

Val Smith (Independent)

Robert Speight (Independent)

Charles Tucker (Pershore Focus Team)

Elizabeth Turier (Pershore Focus Team)

Matthew Winfield (Independent)

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Evesham Observer newspaper.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Evesham Observer.