Lack of interest means no elections - The Evesham Observer

Lack of interest means no elections

Evesham Editorial 16th Apr, 2015 Updated: 20th Oct, 2016   0

THERE will be no elections for Evesham Town Council and Pershore Town Council as not enough people stood for the vacancies on offer.

In Evesham, Jenny Johnson will join current town councillord Richard Jones and Diana Raphael in the Avon Ward while Alan Booth, Michael Elliman, Mark Goodge, Norbert Tucker and Rebecca Whiting will remain councillors in Bengeworth.

Current town councillors Emma Haynes, Frances Smith and John Smith will represent Great Hampton while Fred Kaler and Robert Raphael will represent Little Hampton.

New councillors Ken Barclay and Marlene Sale will join current town councillors Jim Bulman, Charlie Homer and Lynne Jakeman in Evesham South while Colin Tether will join Evesham Town Council in Twyford alongside current councillors Patrick Boyd and Jo Sandalls.

Three further councillors will be co-opted onto the council at the start of the new year civic year while Gerry O’Donnell, Andrew and Wendy Dyke and Beryl Gurden are among those stepping down.

In Pershore, David Goodyear and Peter Brookbank will join Robert Gillmour, Richard Grantham, Julian Palfrey, Tony Rowley and Val Wood in Holy Cross.

David Smith will join David Annis, Chris Parsons, Robert Speight, Charles Tucker, Derrick Watt and Matthew Winfield while a further councillor will be co-opted to join at the start of the new civic year.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Evesham Observer newspaper.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.