Five candidates confirmed in race to become Evesham's MP - The Evesham Observer

Five candidates confirmed in race to become Evesham's MP

Evesham Editorial 12th May, 2017 Updated: 12th May, 2017   0

FIVE candidates have been officially declared in the race to become Evesham’s MP in June’s snap General Election.

Nominations for candidates have now closed and the list of names which will appear on the ballot paper on Thursday, June 8 have been confirmed.

Conservative Nigel Huddleston will be seeking to retain the Mid Worcestershire seat which he first won in 2015 with a majority of 20,532.

He will face the Labour Party’s Fred Grindrod, Liberal Democrat Margaret Rowley, Fay Whitfield from the Green Party and UKIP’s David Greenwood.

The Mid Worcestershire seat has been a safe Conservative stronghold since it was created in 1983 and has never been won by another party.

In West Worcestershire, Conservative Harriett Baldwin is seeking re-election and is defending a majority of 22,578.

Her challengers are ex-midwife Samantha Charles for the Labour Party, former MEP Edward McMillan-Scott for the Liberal Democrats, the Green Party’s Natalie McVey and UKIP’s Mike Savage.

Mid Worcestershire Candidates

David Greenwood – UKIP

Fred Grindrod – Labour Party

Nigel Huddleston – Conservative

Margaret Rowley – Liberal Democrats

Fay Whitfield- Green Party

West Worcestershire Candidates

Harriett Baldwin – Conservative

Samantha Charles – Labour Party

Edward McMillan-Scott – Liberal Democrats

Natalie McVey – Green Party

Mike Savage – UKIP

For more information on all the candidates visit the dedicated Vote 2017 section of our website.

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Evesham Observer.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.