Conservatives keep control of Wychavon DC - The Evesham Observer

Conservatives keep control of Wychavon DC

Evesham Editorial 18th May, 2015 Updated: 20th Oct, 2016   0

THE CONSERVATIVE Party retained their dominant control of Wychavon District Council by claiming 39 of the 45 available seats.

The Tories gained an extra three seats compared to 2011 while the Liberal Democrats maintained five seats and UKIP gained their first seat on the council.

The local elections took place on Friday (May 8) and Coun Mark Goodge retained the Badsey seat for the Conservatives against Independent Mary Campbell and UKIPs Tony Haugh.

Coun Emma Stokes retained her seat in Bengeworth, with fellow Tory councillor Martin King claiming the other ahead of UKIPs Jeremy Farrow and Christopher Wilson of the Green Party.

Coun Keith Wright claimed one of the Liberal Democrats five seats after he retained Bretforton and Offenham against David Ernest of the Conservatives.

The pair of seats in Broadway and Wickamford went to the Conservatives as Coun Liz Eyre retained her seat with newly-elected coun Bradley Thomas, against competition from Baron Fullstop of the Official Monster Raving Loony Party, and the Green Party’s Liam Wilson.

Eckington’s Conservative councillor Ron Davis retained his seat against Labour’s Cilla Cameron while in Evesham North

Conservative councillor Jo Sandalls retained her seat along with fellow Tory councillor Robert Raphael against Liberal Democrat

Tim Haines, UKIPs Richard Keel and Colin Tether of the Green Party.

In Evesham South Conservatives Jim Bulman and Ken Barclay won the two seats on offer in a closely fought contest against the Green Party’s Edward Cohen.

Fladbury returned to a single district councillor where Coun Michelle English of the Conservatives won the seat ahead of Diana Brown of the Liberal Democrats and Julian Eldridge of the Green Party.

Coun Charlie Homer retained Harvington and Norton for the Tories against Sarah Cohen of the Green Party, while the Conservatives Gerry O’Donnell and Frances Smith claimed the two seats in Little Hampton against UKIPs Peter Long, and Jonathan Thompson of the Green Party.

Pershore saw three councillors elected with Conservatives Val Wood and Liberal Democrat Charles Tucker retaining their seats together with newly-elected Conservative councillor Tony Rowley.

Independent David Annis, Peter Brookbank of Labour, Carolyn Harford of the Liberal Democrats, David Smith of the Conservatives, Jonny Townsend of UKIP and Derrick Watt of the Liberal Democrats were the ones to miss about.

And in Pinvin, Liberal Democrat CounLiz Tucker retained the seat against Clive Brooker of the Conservatives.

Only 28 of the 32 wards in Wychavon were contested and among those returned unchallenged were Adrian Hardman in Bredon, Alistair Adams in Honeybourne and Pebworth and Rob Adams in Norton and Harvington.

Council leader Paul Middlebrough, said: “Lots of things have come together today with Labour now gone and being replaced by a UKIP councillor.

“But were all very said to see John Smith lose his seat after so long on Wychavon.”


Mark Sidney Goodge, Conservative – 681 ELECTED

Anthony Haugh, UKIP – 279

Mary Elizabeth Campbell, Independant – 574

Turnout 68.7 per cent


Jeremy Farrow, UKIP – 986

Martin Thomas King, Conservative – 1,385 ELECTED

Emma Stokes, Conservative – 1,199 ELECTED

Christopher Wilson, Green Party – 687

Turnout 61.5 per cent


David Nigel Ernest, Conservative – 665

Keith Wright, Liberal Democrat – 840 ELECTED

Turnout 60 per cent


Baron Fullstop, Official Monster Raving Loony Party – 326

Liz Eyre, Conservative – 2,048 ELECTED

Bradley Thomas, Conservative – 1,533 ELECTED

Liam Wilson, Green Party – 684

Turnout 73.2 per cent


Priscilla Cameron, Labour – 518

Ron Davis, Conservative – 1,177 ELECTED

Turnout 76.2 per cent


Timothy Haines, Liberal Democrat – 456

Richard Keel, UKIP – 702

Robert Raphael, Conservative – 908 ELECTED

Jo Sandalls, Conservative – 774 ELECTED

Colin Tether, Green Party – 616

Turnout 60.7 per cent


Ken Barclay, Conservative – 1,271 ELECTED

Jim Bulman, Conservative – 1,368 ELECTED

Edward Cohen, Green Party – 903

Turnout 61.3 per cent


Diana Brown, Liberal Democrat – 338

Julian Eldridge, Green Party – 289

Michelle English, Conservative – 1,061 ELECTED

Turnout 77.4 per cent


Ged Bearcroft, UKIP – 624 ELECTED

Michael Parker, Green Party – 201

John Smith, Conservative – 607

Turnout 66.7 per cent


Sarah Cohen, Green Party – 395

Charlie Homer, Conservative – 1,103 ELECTED

Turnout 74.2 per cent


Peter Long, UKIP – 808

Gerry O’Donnell, Conservative – 1,233 ELECTED

Frances Smith, Conservative – 1,030 ELECTED

Jonathan Thomson, Green Party – 534

Turnout 60.1 per cent


David Annis, Independent – 783

Peter Brookbank, Labour – 771

Carolyn Harford, Liberal Democrat – 1,035

Tony Rowley, Conservative – 1,419 ELECTED

David Smith, Conservative – 1,226

Jonny Townsend, UKIP – 934

Charles Tucker, Liberal Democrat – 1,598 ELECTED

Derrick Watt, Liberal Democrat – 858

Val Wood, Conservative – 1,315 ELECTED

Turnout 66.7 per cent


Clive Brooker, Conservative – 608

Liz Tucker, Liberal Democrat – 1,129 ELECTED

Turnout 74.8 per cent


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.


Find a career you'll love with our free career finder website.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Evesham Observer.

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Evesham Observer newspaper.