Finding plenty to enjoy in another batch of new releases - The Evesham Observer

Finding plenty to enjoy in another batch of new releases

Evesham Editorial 20th Feb, 2016 Updated: 20th Oct, 2016   0

THE FIRST album of brand new songs from Chris Isaak in six years is the highlight of the latest music releases. Observer editor Rob George takes a look at what is on offer.

FROM the man who brought you the iconic ‘Wicked Game’ comes ‘First Comes the Night’, Chris Isaak’s brand new album.

Produced by Paul Worley, Dave Cobb and Mark Needham, the album his the streets on February 5 comprising 12 new songs.

‘First Comes the Night’ is Isaak’s first recording of all original songs in six years and is a follow up to the 2011 album ‘Beyond the Sun’.

Isaak said: “I totally enjoyed recording in Nashville – a city filled with terrific musicians and what an honour to work with such great producers.

“As for the new songs, I like to mix it up so there’s some dark ones, funny ones and romantic ones.

“You have to absolutely play these songs after the break up while you’re cleaning the house,” he added.

Baroness have been earning widespread acclaim for their new album ‘Purple’ which is their most emotionally threadbare and musically complex offering to date.

Now the band are getting set for a major 32 show European headline tour later this month with shows in Southampton, Manchester, Leeds, Glasgow, Birmingham and London..

Purple reflects a dark moment in the band’s history; the terrifying bus crash they survived on their tour in 2012.

Never has a Twin Shadow record hit that sweet spot like ‘Eclipse’.

Brimming with dramatic tension and explosive,emotional release, it’s an album of heartbreaking uncertainty and anthemic longing, a soundtrack to self-doubt and desire.

‘Eclipse’ is Twin Shadow aka George Lewis Jr’s third album and follows up on the success of the 2012 hit ‘Confess’ and of stunning performances which cemented his status as one of the most compelling and charismatic frontmen in music today.

After almost 50million worldwide sales in just five years, the latest chapter in Jason Derulo’s phenomenally successful career comes with the release of ‘Everything is 4’.

Derulo teams up with producer Ricky Reed for ‘Get Ugly’ and to recapture some of the magic which delivered him hits such as ‘Talk Dirty’ and ‘Wiggle’.

‘Get Ugly’ will be the second track to be unveiled from ‘Everything is 4’ after ‘Want To Want Me’ which raced passed five million YouTube views thanks to an innovative promotional campaign.

Neil Young and Promise of the Real have joined forces to release a new studio album entitled ‘The Monsanto Years’.

The ecologically/environmentally-focused album is guitar centric and is packed full of highly-charged rock.

Young is joined by Promise of the Real, an LA based rock band who include Lukas and Micah Nelson, sons of the legendary Willie Nelson.

British band Muse return with new album Drones, packed full of 12 tracks co-produced by the legendary ‘Mutt’ Lange.

Matt Bellamy praised the latest release and said: “The world is run by drones, utilizing drones to turn us all into drones.

“This album explores the journey of a human, from their abandonment and loss of hope, to their indoctrination by the system to be a human drone, to their eventual defection from their oppressors.”

Muse have sold 17million albums worldwide and Drones is a follow up to the 2012 ‘The 2nd Law’ which topped the charts in 21 countries including the UK.

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Evesham Observer newspaper.


Advertise with the Evesham Observer to reach your audience


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.